Get To

There used to be a lot of things I felt I had to do. I had to go to work. I had to attend meetings. I had to produce something. I had to edit something. I had to contribute something on a schedule. I had to design something. I had to play music.

Have To is not a very fun place to be. Have To has an inherent “I’d rather be doing something else” to it. Have To sucks to joy out of the experience.

In the movie, Gladiator, Russell Crowe’s character, Maximus, asks his slave Cicero, “Do you find it hard to do your duty?” Cicero replies, “Sometimes I do what I want to do. The rest of the time, I do what I have to.”

Now, I certainly wouldn’t compare my life to Cicero’s; I have lived a very sheltered and blessed life in the suburban midwest. But I think at some level, we all have felt what Cicero expressed. We pile up obligations and commitments and before you know it – we are a slave to our own schedule.

But in the past few months I’ve experienced the freedom of “Get To.” I Get To play music in a wide variety of formats. I Get To serve at a cool church. I Get To produce things for a solid company. I Get To take side jobs that are interesting and challenging.

Get To is a lot more fulfilling than Have To.

Would I attribute that change to a difference of location? of vocation? or is it mental? I’m still figuring that out. But one thing is clear – life is a lot more fun this way.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

