Racial and Ethnic Data Collection Form

Today I received a phone call from my kids’ school system informing me that I had one week to download a “Racial and Ethnic Data Collection Form” from the school’s website, fill it out, and return it to them. Here are JPEG images of the form I downloaded.

I created this post in order to share the images of the actual PDF with people. My facebook status on this topic now has 39 comments in less than 24 hours.

I’m fairly libertarian in my views on race – I don’t think the government should have anything to do with it. I believe things like this are in direct opposition to the achievement of a colorblind society. It is the job of schools to educate students. Period. It shouldn’t matter what race individual students are. Now, being a marketing-minded person, I really can understand the desire to know certain demographic information – but shouldn’t that information be anonymously collected? In other words, why does the form ask for my child’s name and date of birth?

For further review of my personal thoughts on race, see an older blog post here.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Racial and Ethnic Data Collection Form”


  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Jeremy Carter, Jeremy Carter. Jeremy Carter said: Interested in your thoughts on the Racial and Ethnic Data Collection Form for schools. Please comment: http://bit.ly/bKnpjJ […]

  2. jason Says:

    It says this is for “informational purposes”; but it does not state to what purpose…


Leave a Reply

