Idol Power Rankings, Top 8 (Birth Year Week)

top8

Here are my Power Rankings for Top 8 week on Idol.
Previous Rankings: Top 13 | Top 12 | Top 11 | Top 10 | Top 9

  1. Allison Iraheta, “I Can’t Me You Love Me”. Her vocals were NAILS, y’all. She is getting better and better each and every week. I was VERY impressed with her SKILLZ this week!
  2. Matt Giraud, “Part Time Lovers”. Matt is back, yo! We hope “Rock Band Matt” is gone for good! Very very, nice job.
  3. Danny Gokey, “Stand By Me”. Another nice, strong, consistent effort by one of my favorites. Nothing groundbreaking but another strong performance.
  4. Adam Lambert, “Mad World”. OK…my personal opinion is that we went backwards into “Weird Adam” land again. It was OK I guess, but it definitely wasn’t my thing at all. I was not a fan of that performance.
  5. Anoop Desai, “True Colors”. Anoop the balladeer returns. This is what he can do well. It’s in his sweet spot.
  6. Lil Rounds, “What’s Love Got To Do With It” When she sings, it makes me want to take a big breath FOR her! It always seems like she’s struggling to keep up with the beat and to have enough air. It creates a very uneasy feeling. The big high note pushed sharp. Lil started this competition in my top 3, but her impact on me is fading quickly. I think the width of her sweet spot is extremely narrow. She is proving week after week that she can’t sing other genres that are thrown at her.
  7. Kris Allen, “All She Wants To Do Is Dance”. What was with that crazy arrangement, bro? I didn’t get it. That song doesn’t really work as a funk pop thing. I think somewhere in the distance, Don Henley is crying himself to sleep.
  8. Scott MacIntyre, “The Search Is Over”. Scott, your search for the Idol crown is over. It’s time to go now. Thanx. Buh-bye.
Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

3 Comments on “Idol Power Rankings, Top 8 (Birth Year Week)”

  1. Aubri Says:

    Seriously…I wasn’t THAT impressed with Allison. I would probably put her somewhere around 4. I agree…Lil Rounds unfortunately is just not picking good songs and is losing her appeal real fast…and…yeah…bye-bye Scotty boy!

  2. jermtech Says:

    I think you’re in the small minority on your view on Allison, Aubri.

  3. Sarah Says:

    I’m sorry. Not a gokey fan at all. Something about that dude just bugs me. Loved Allison, and loved loved loved Adam. Thought matt was amazing. Other than that, I could get rid of everyone else.


Leave a Reply

