Idol Power Rankings, Top 9 (iTunes Week)

idoltop9_dl

Here are my Power Rankings for Top Ten week on Idol.
Previous Rankings: Top13 | Week 1 | Week 2 | Top 10

  1. Adam Lambert, “Play That Funky Music”. Adam is by FAR the most consistently awesome contestant. I think we are seeing the winner unfold before our eyes. Simply amazing. I can’t wait to see what he’s going to attempt next. He’s starting to distance himself from the other contestants. They all have a lot of catching up to do.
  2. Danny Gokey, “What Hurts The Most”. Danny is still one of my favorites on this show, but I wasn’t in sync with the judges this time. I felt he pushed a little hard and oversang it. He certainly did that on the big high note, (whch squeaked out) and might have been a little sharp on the very last note of the song. I did agree with Kara, though – he does bring his heart and soul every week.
  3. Kris Allen, “Ain’t No Sunshine”. When I heard the song he was singing, I was very skeptical – but I think he actually worked it out really well. I was pretty impressed after all. It turned out to be one of his best performances.
  4. Allison Iraheta, “Don’t Speak”. She continues to amaze me that she is just 16 years old. Her tone and control is astounding for that age. I really don’t get the whole judges commenting on her looks and dress so much. I don’t really care that much about it and it wasn’t that distracting to me. And having a daughter myself that is into Hannah Montana and HSM and iCarly and everything, I think what she wore is right in line with her age.
  5. Lil Rounds, “I Surrender”.  Celine Dion? Really? You can pick anything you want off the iTunes charts and you picked straight-up, white, adult contemporary? LIL – You are an R&B singer. Why do you keep running from that? The back half of the song was better than the beginning, but still – I don’t get it. You are an awesome singer – but WHY CELINE?
  6. Matt Giraud, “You Found Me”. He might have been feeling it, but I wasn’t. It was a class in Oversinging 101. Not good. It was back to the Matt that did Viva La Vida.
  7. Anoop Desai, “Caught Up”. I was really not impressed this week. Sorry Anoop. Perhaps you are just a balladeer. Everytime you try to do an uptempo song you prove how cheesy you are.
  8. Scott MacIntyre, “I Love You Just The Way You Are”. Scott, it may be time to go, buddy. That was not very good, dude. Cheesy. Cruise Ship. The opposite of something hip and contemporary. Kara and Simon were wrong. It was lame.
  9. Megan Joy Corkrey, “Turn Your Lights Down Low”. I am really tired of Lady Caw Caw’s act. Please send her home America!
Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

2 Comments on “Idol Power Rankings, Top 9 (iTunes Week)”

  1. Aubri Says:

    LOL “Lady caw-caw!!!” Totally agree 100% with your critique this week!

  2. Jess Fennell Says:

    I feeling your list; however I think Kris Allen may have out did Danny…felt his was very ‘brought to date’. 🙂


Leave a Reply

