Idol Power Rankings, Top 10 (Motown Week)

idols_top_10_900

Here are my Power Rankings for Top Ten week on Idol.
Previous Rankings: Top13 | Week 1 | Week 2

  1. Adam Lambert, “Tracks of My Tears”. I’m absolutely speechless. That was the performance of the year so far. Absolutely stunning. Beautiful. Passionate. Perfection.
  2. Danny Gokey, “Get Ready”. It was good. It was really good. But Adam was better. Danny drops a spot to #2 this week!
  3. Allison Iraheta, “Papa Was A Rolling Stone”. She really brought it tonight! Very very good. She jumps up 4 spots from me this week!
  4. Anoop Desai, “Ooh Baby Baby”. I might be an outsider on this, but I really really liked it. The falsetto wasn’t perfect, but the feel and interpretation was dead ON. Simon’s criticism about showmanship was good feedback, I think.
  5. Matt Giraud, “Let’s Get It On”. I was very impressed at the beginning, but it turned a little “boy band” for me near the end. The judges seemed to really like it, though. I tend to judge ANYBODY who sings Marvin pretty harshly though – he’s one of the top male vocalists of all time in my opinion.
  6. Lil Rounds, “Heat Wave”.  Is it me or did she sound nervous and out of breath throughout the song? It sounded like she was struggling to keep up, and kind of oversinging it. I was expecting her to come out with this genre and just KILL, but I was kind of disappointed. I agreed with Kara completely.
  7. Kris Allen, “How Sweet It Is”. It was a really smart song choice for him. I’m not sure what it is, but I’m just not a big fan of Kris’s. He did a respectable job with the tune, but I’m just not impressed with him. It was OK – but again I say – So What? I think the girlies all just like the way he looks.
  8. Scott MacIntyre, “You Can’t Hurry Love”. I just figured it out. He’s Richard Carpenter! (Great composer/arranger/musician – but so-so vocalist.) He needs a Karen.
  9. Michael Sarver, “Ain’t Too Proud To Beg”. White boy got completely exposed this week. Simon was spot on accurate with his criticism.
  10. Megan Joy Corkrey, “For Once In My Life”. Lady Caw Caw finally showed us the truth tonght, and everyone saw it – including all 4 judges.
Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

