Song Suggestions for Idol’s Motown Week

adam_lambert_210x202

Adam Lambert: It would also be nice to see Adam’s softer side with “My Cherie Amour” (Stevie Wonder), but if he wants to keep the energy flowing, he could go with “I Was Made To Love Her” (Stevie Wonder).

allison_iraheta_210x202

Allison Iraheta: “What Becomes of the Broken-Hearted” (Jimmy Ruffin). This song has a lot of grit in the vocal, which would suit Allison nice.

anoop_desai_210x202

Anoop Desai: “Baby I Need Your Loving” (The Four Tops). My advice to Anoop is to keep capitalizing on how strong your vocal is and don’t fall victim to feeling like you have to do something wild.

danny_gokey_210x202

Danny Gokey: “Reach Out I’ll Be There” (Four Tops), or “Signed Sealed Delivered I’m Yours” (Stevie Wonder). Both songs would give Danny some optimum time in his power range and let his natural growl shine through.

kris_allen_210x202

Kris Allen: It will really surprise me if Kris can do well in this round. I had a tough time finding a song I felt like he could pull off well. But Michael McDonald’s newer version of “I Second That Emotion” could work well for him because it has the white-boy funk/pop thing in the groove.

lil_rounds_210x202

Lil Rounds: Lil would absolutely kill “I Heard It Through The Grapevine” (Gladys Knight version).

matt_giraud_210x202

Matt Giraud: “For Once In My Life” (Stevie Wonder) or “Mercy Mercy Me”(Marvin Gaye)

megan_joy_210x202

Megan Joy: What can I say? I think she’ll butcher any Motown song I throw out there – so maybe “Baby Love” (The Supremes)?

michael_sarver_210x202

Michael Sarver: “Groovin” (Marvin Gaye) or “Walk Away Renee” (Four Tops)

scott_macintyre_210x202

Scott McIntyre: “How Sweet It Is” (James Taylor Version). If not that one, then I would definitely try to find some cover version that de-emphasizes the soul part and emphasizes the musicality.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

