Jermination Reading Challenge Update Feb 2009

I kicked some butt this month! I read 3 books: Blue Like Jazz by Donald Miller, My Life In and Out of the Rough by John Daly, and Robin Hood Marketing by Katya Andersen.

3_books

Out of these three, my favorite by far was My Life In and Out of the Rough. For those of you who don’t know, John Daly is a highly skilled PGA golfer who had some good runs of golf in the 1990’s. He is also well-known for his out of control drinking, partying, overconsumption of food, his 4 marriages, and a gambling addiction. I looked forward to reading this book each time, I had trouble putting it down, and it was tremendously funny at times. Of course there is the sadness that comes from watching someone repeatedly make the wrong choice – and then seeing the consequences to those choices play out. But I take those as stern warnings for my own life. Living each day and each moment completely on gut-feel may make you a world class athlete who takes risks that tend to pay off – BUT – it does not make for deep and meaningful relationships, good health, or financial security!

Blue Like Jazz is a very well-known and high-praised book by many people that I respect greatly. But honestly, I found the book a little tedious. I kind of had to make myself get through it – it wasn’t something that I just wanted to read in the sense that I was drawn to it. It was more like doing homework. BUT there were plenty of good and insightful moments in it. I especially loved the personal stories and memories. Don Miller definitely has a gift for turning a phrase and making pretty simple conversations between two people memorable and poignant. The message of the book is awesome (even if he did take a lot of shots at people with politically conservative viewpoints!)

Robin Hood Marketing reads like an instruction manual. It is very much like a how-to guide using certain marketing techniques for non-profits. There were a few nuggets of inspiration, but overall it was a very plain book that will be easily forgotten.

I am now officially back on track for the year (my goal was 2 books per month).

How are the rest of you doing?

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags:

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Jermination Reading Challenge Update Feb 2009”

  1. Eric H Says:

    Yeah, I wasn’t thrilled about Miller’s intermittent political sentiments (though as a libertarian, I understood where he was coming from in opposing certain stereotypes), but I loved Blue Like Jazz once I resolved to ignore the political bias.

    For this month, I’ve finished the following:

    Utopia by Thomas More
    How is this a classic?! Terrible!

    Children of the Mind by Orson Scott Card
    This was a great book. Some of the dialogue really touched me in unexpected ways. My favorite line from the book comes in normal dialogue between two characters speaking about a ‘spiritual’ leader, which expresses an important point about the limitations of language, “I know the ordinary meaning of his words. But when he speaks, I can feel the words straining to contain the things he wants to say, and they can’t do it.”

    Wide Awake by Erwin Raphael McManus
    This is a book that would be easy to glance over and say “Yep, another inspirational Christian book.” But that would be short-changing McManus; this book, if taken seriously and applied thoughtfully, has the potential to be life-altering. I found it a very challenging (not to read, but to apply) and very encouraging read. I would not hesitate to recommend it.

  2. Avin Kline Says:

    My Goal is 1 book / week. I didn’t quite hit that this month, but I’m on track now.

    My reviews can be found here: http://www.avinkline.com/?cat=14

    1. I Can Make You Thin

    2. The 22 Immutable Laws of Marketing

    3. Tribes

  3. Avin Kline Says:

    Are there only 3 of us left?

  4. jermtech Says:

    I know Lindsay Weed is still in, and there are other more “under the radar” participants. JLee is reading. So are Niko and JB.


Leave a Reply

