New Year’s Resolution: Book Reading Challenge

old-books

Inspired by the story of Pres. Bush and Karl Rove having a friendly competition to read as many books as they could in a given year, I have decided that to read as many books as I can in a year is my New Year’s Resolution for 2009. Last year I read a total of 20 books. I want to see if I can make it at least 24 (two per month) and possibly more. Anybody with me?

Qualifications:
To qualify, it has to be an actual BOOK…no pamphlets, no tracts, operation manuals, romance novels, or “graphic novels”, none of that nonsense. Personal growth, spiritual topics, history, biographies, leadership, current events, bona fide novels, etc. are the preferred format here.

I will begin with the books on my nightstand that have been sitting there in various stages of un-read-ness. Since I assume most of us have some books lying around that we’ve started and not finished, I will make a judge’s ruling that any book FINISHED in 2009 will count towards your total.

Tracking:
We’ll be on the honor system, ladies and gentlemen. I have no desire to try to keep track of all your reading lists and progress! Just comment on this post, letting me know you’re in the challenge. Every so often, I’ll make a new post and we can share how we’re doing.

What’s on my nightstand right now:

  1. UnChristian, by David Kinnaman and Gabriel Lyons
  2. Robin Hood Marketing by Katya Andresen
  3. The Forgotten Ways by Alan Hirsch
  4. Strong Fathers, Strong Daughters by Dr. Meg Meeker
  5. Blue Like Jazz by Donald Miller

Let’s do it and have some fun!

WHO’S IN:
[UPDATED 1-15-09 9:25pm]

  1. Jeremy Carter
  2. Eric Hollering
  3. Avin Kline
  4. Julie Baldini
  5. Shelia Miller
  6. Niko Gruber
  7. Jerry Renkenberger
  8. Jason Lee
  9. Jason Braun
  10. Lindsay Weed
Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

19 Comments on “New Year’s Resolution: Book Reading Challenge”

  1. Eric H Says:

    I do recommend Visual Bookshelf for Facebook users to help keep track. It’s also just a fun way to check out what your friends are reading. Of course, it doesn’t do me much good right now because I could only keep tabs on what my wife is reading…and to do that I only need to glance up from my own book. So it would be cool to see some other people using it.

    So am I to understand that any book started in 2008 and finished in 2009 counts?

  2. Eric H Says:

    Oh yeah, I forgot…on my shelf right now:

    http://books.livingsocial.com/people/1691224889

    By the way, this is Visual Bookshelf…you can link it outside of Facebook….pretty sweet.

  3. jermtech Says:

    yup – I think we’ve all got a few books started that are unfinished. It will give us a jumpstart on our totals.

  4. jermtech Says:

    In the contest so far: Me, Avin Kline, Eric Hollering, Julie Baldini.

  5. jbaldini Says:

    Sweet! I am two chapters away from finishing “Crazy Love” by Francis Chan. Great book for everyone! It will mess you up in a good way!


  6. I’m in. Thanks for the invitation!

  7. Niko Says:

    I’m in. I should be finishing up Soul Cravings in the next day or two.

  8. jermtech Says:

    Shelia emailed me. She’s in, too.

  9. Jason Says:

    I’m in. Although I do assume eric will kick all our butts. just looking at his bookshelf makes me not want to do this. 🙂


  10. […] first, props to jeremy who made this all […]

  11. Eric H Says:

    JLee,

    I wouldn’t worry too much…my next book – http://mises.org/Books/HumanActionScholars.pdf

    Yep, that’ll take me a while.

  12. Adam Setmeyer Says:

    Saw this at Jason’s website, and I’m in.

    Do books we finished this already this year count? I finished one the other day (Ender in Exile). Also I finished two Christmas books already, and now I wish I had waited till Jan 1 to finish them. They were Saved by Hope by Pope Benedict XVI and Living the Resurrection by Eugene Peterson.

  13. Eric H Says:

    Adam,

    How was Ender in Exile? Been wanting to read it but waiting to find it used. Love OSC!

  14. jermtech Says:

    Adam – welcome! For a book to quality, you must have finished it in the year 2009 🙂

  15. chuckypita Says:

    Atlas Shrugged anyone? (As far as I’m concerned, this is the best book I have ever read.)

  16. Eric H Says:

    chuckypita – by the end of the year…

  17. jermtech Says:

    I’m not hip to Atlas Shrugged…I’ll have to check it out.

  18. Adam Setmeyer Says:

    Ender in Exile is good if you follow the Ender saga. What it does is tie Ender’s story and Bean’s story (as told in the Shadow… books) together, and, at the same time, explain what happens between Ender’s Game and Speaker for the Dead. I checked it out from my library.

    It was good, but, at the same time, nothing special.

  19. Eric H Says:

    Hmm…haven’t read the shaddow series yet…just picked up Children of the Mind to finish of the first series. I think I’ll wait til I have the original 8 read before checking it out. Thanks.


Leave a Reply

